Shhh! The End is Near!

Greetings and salutations my friends, and welcome to another bit from the Writing Fisherman!

Today I’m thinking about goals. Are they flexible? Should they be, and how often do you push them back? Do you set a goal with a firm date of execution to be finished then the date comes and goes so you set a new goal date. And then another. Then you write a new one in bold ink on your desktop, or perhaps set a calendar reminder in your phone like a countdown.  Is it a confidence thing, or are the goals we set sometimes unrealistic?c9d3a92fa9163e441127cda6b5a53207

If you’ve been following me for a few months, or since the beginning, you know my goal dates with my novel have been pretty fluid, to say the least. When I started this blog in 2015, I’d set a goal for that Fall. I intentionally left it dateless as I had no idea how to gauge my writing but to fit the paranormal nature of my story, I hoped for an October time frame. Then I pushed it to Spring-ish followed by a big announcement on my Facebook it would be coming in May of 2016. I thought that by announcing it to the world I’d freak out enough to get it done by then. My wife raised an eyebrow over that ill-fated decision which, obviously, didn’t work.

From there I went back to a Fall time frame again but I found myself floundering and thinking about another story. castle confusedAt the start of this year, I set a new goal of March and  again I went bust. Then I began to notice a pattern and I think I’ve finally figured out what’s going on. If I announce a deadline, the writing Gods will conspire against me, throwing problems big and small to confound my writing! That’s gotta be it, right?!

Okay, maybe not. But just like in fishing, or other sports, superstitions can be mighty strong. For example when my KC Chiefs are playing football well, I will wear the same outfit, use the same glass, and try making the same food each Sunday until they lose again. Likewise in writing, I’ve heard of other writers who need certain music to be playing, or will only begin a new project on certain days of the week. Some must stand to write, while others must lie down, and let’s just avoid the topic of those who write sans clothes shall we?rolling-eyes-animated-gif

Until I finish this first novel I think I’ve found a new superstition, deadline announcements. Just between you and me, I’m making a lot of progress in the past couple of weeks and the end is near. Suffice to say I will certainly be shouting from the rooftops when it is complete but I’m loving this sensation of writing for myself lately and getting lost within the story once more. With that in mind, I quote the immortal words of Elmer Fudd;

Elmer_fudd

 

“Shhh! Be wary, wary quiet. I’m hunting word counts!”

About Jason A. Meuschke

Happily married, father of four who has always been a dreamer and is finally pursuing those dreams! Follow along and read my silly thoughts as I approach the end of my first novel.
This entry was posted in Am writing, Distractions, Fiction Writing, New Writer, Reasons to Write, Uncategorized, Write Every Day, Writing Goals and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Shhh! The End is Near!

  1. J.W. Martin says:

    I’m certainly not the best person to speak on hitting goals, but I have always found short-term goals to produce more results.

    If I were to say I’ll write 90,000 words over the next 3 months (without breaking it down to tangible bite-sized deliciousness) I might be at 10,000 words with a week to go. If I say I’m going to write 1,000 words a day for the next 3 months, I probably won’t hit my target every day, but I’ll be much closer to 90K by the end.

    The other thing to keep in mind: We’re writers! We torture editors (even if it’s only our inner editor) by trampling on their deadlines as skip past them, laughing about something witty we just wrote, but will delete tomorrow.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Goals should be viewed as tools. Setting a goal can be good in that it gives us a marker, something to work toward. Writing to goals can give us a push or a good, swift kick in the trousers.

    The problem with creative work is that sometimes we can’t *make* it happen, and sometimes life knocks the wind out of our creative sails. There’s a difference between the discipline of coming up with something decent because we must, such as on an exam, where we have that one chance to dazzle within the parameters of the deadline. But if it’s a case of something as big and permanent as a book, it’s better to extend the deadline and have it right rather than pushing it and not having the product we’re satisfied with. Besides, if it’s your own deadline, who says you can’t move it?

    Liked by 1 person

  3. gregoryjosephs says:

    It took me about six years to finish my first novel, and much of that was done in the last six months of that timeframe. I did set a completion goal about six weeks out, but only when I was confident I was finally coming to the end. I made reservations at a nice French restaurant and told myself I could only go if I finished the book on that day.

    That was the most delicious plate of Steak Frites I’ve ever eaten!

    Good luck! You’re almost there!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: June Update | Jason A. Meuschke

Leave a Reply

