Keeping Up with NaNo-Writing Goals?

Hello, hello fans and friends alike! Welcome back to another exciting episode of The Writing Fisherman. Oooh, what will he talk about today? I’m sure my readers are just bouncing with anticipation for what I’ve been up to of late, aren’t you?  Okay, enough of the self-aggrandizing. I’ve not written a post in a while so I feel like a little boy bouncing off the walls after drinking a jolt cola cappuccino blend. I’m just excited to be back and making time for you, which I really should do more of.

downloadSo who’s doing NaNoWriMo? This guy right here is but, admittedly, sadly, I’m really struggling this year with keeping up in the word count. To be honest, it’s not so much the keeping up as it is the making time to write. As of yesterday, I’d not written a single word of my new manuscript in just over two days! At an average of 1,600 words per day to keep up, plus I was already 2,500 words behind schedule prior to this, that puts me at nearly 6,000 words behind schedule. Egad, the horror!

A little secret though, just between us. It’s IMG_1138not bothering me as much as I thought it would. Shocked? I mean, yes, I’d LOVE to finish my first draft this month. That is the whole idea behind it but, for right now at least, I’m not overly concerned. As always, I’ve got a lot on my plate going on right now and I’m learning new things about my writing style and habits.
Things like writing at the dinner table with a nearly two-year-old grand daughter running around is not conducive to progress. Even when I retreat to the garage to my work bench and attempt writing in solitude, I’m too often allowing myself to get distracted by any fishing tackle laying about awaiting organization. But I’m still not panicked about the numbers because I know I’ll get there. I gotta say, it’s a nice place to be.

That being said, I’m pretty thrilled to be working on a new novel. It too is a thriller but with a scifi slant. Preparing for this novel has been a blast, especially when I got to do a Q&A session with a retired science teacher to run some things by him.  That was a fun day!

Speaking of, I suppose this novel ain’t going to write itself so I suppose I should make time now to write. How are you coming along with your word counts? Are you doing NaNoWriMo or just sticking to your own writing schedule? If you are doing it and want to add me as a buddy, you can find me here and we can push each other along. Until next time!

 

About Jason A. Meuschke

Happily married, father of four who has always been a dreamer and is finally pursuing those dreams! Follow along and read my silly thoughts as I approach the end of my first novel.
Image | This entry was posted in Am writing, Distractions, First Draft, NaNoWriMo, Planning Your Novel, Thriller Fiction. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Keeping Up with NaNo-Writing Goals?

  1. Just keep writing, just keep writing!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. It’s not how much you write, but that you keep going forward. Sometimes life is life, and sometimes you need time to think about what you will write. It’s better to enjoy the adventure of taking part in NaNo than to feel negative about it.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. rmkinder says:

    As you know, I finished my project–not quite book length–before I reached the word count. I continued writing scenes I might add it, but actually I was pleased to have written the complete story and should have stopped short of the word count. Going on diluted my pleasure and somehow dulled my story. My point, I guess, is that the word count doesn’t matter–it’s the writing toward your goal.If your goal was starting your next novel, then celebrate. You did it.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

