Writing for a Livin’

I WENT FISHING!

Now that I got that out of my system welcome back to another little blog by the Writing Fisherman. I really appreciate that you keep coming back as if I have something of value to say. Thanks!

I’m putting myself out there today as I thought I’d share a few of my early published writings I did for websites years ago. See I used to be a stay-at-home Dad while my wife was first starting off in the USAF. (Side-note: NEVER forget that women proudly serve as well! I can’t tell you how often she puts up with people saying stupid things to her, automatically assuming I was the active duty person. But that is a rant for another time.)

IMG_2217I spent several years at home attending online classes from the Institute of Children’s Literature. I enjoyed the classes and loved being home raising our daughters who were too young for school, unlike big brother. For a while I thought I’d be happy writing children’s stories with the occasional crossover into more adult themes. However, I was never able to maintain momentum with a story like I can today.

I did start writing though for a, now long-closed, fan-site of the Kansas City Chiefs where I would do commentary and recap of the previous game. It was mostly my own optimistic opinions, which typically led to debates with readers, which was good for driving traffic. I did it for free to gain exposure and had a blast in the two seasons I wrote for the site.

During that time I struck out many, many times sending queries to different magazines typically trying to peddle my adventures as a stay-at-home Dad with three kids. Let me tell you I had plenty to share! Alas, no one was interested but fortunately I’d made friends in the ICL (Institute of Children’s Lit) Chat Room. They’d heard about some upstart websites for writers who were actively looking for articles. So, I sent them some of my stuff and next thing you know I’ve got my first sale as a writer at The Busy Freelancer titled, What’s Your Motivation?

A few months later I had my next and one I’m more proud of with Write From Home, Christmas Fitness. This one felt more sincere as it reflected my love of fitness.

Neither articles were groundbreaking by any means. Actually I get a chuckle now about my article on motivating others to write when I myself struggled so hard! I even stopped writing for several years to go back into the workforce. Still, when I start getting down on myself looking back at lost/wasted time, at least I have these things to remind me that, just maybe, I can do this. I absolutely feel I’m a better story teller today, than I was then and I’ve certainly learned a lot about the craft I didn’t know back then. Perhaps one day soon I’ll see as the Eagles song goes, “that it wasn’t really wasted time.”

IMG_2197Last time I mentioned it was almost Father’s Day and the hope was that maybe I’d get a chance to go fishing. Well I did indeed early that morning on my own, and again this past Sunday with my youngest son, Kiefer. On Father’s Day I caught a few including this BIG surprising 6-pounder that I had no idea was in there! Prior to then, I’d caught nothing over 3-pounds in this lake. It was indeed a welcome surprise, and one I put back to hopefully catch another day. Then yesterday, Kiefer was the one on fire catching the most. I’m not complaining though as days like this are scarce for me this year and I treasure them just as I do all my family.
IMG_2220

Do you have some old writing to share? Perhaps a memory made even more fond due to the sacrifices which must be made to reach your goals? Let me know in the comments below. I’d love to read them! Until next time, take care!

 

 

About Jason A. Meuschke

Happily married, father of four who has always been a dreamer and is finally pursuing those dreams! Follow along and read my silly thoughts as I approach the end of my first novel.
This entry was posted in Am writing, Fiction Writing, First Draft, Fishing, Reasons to Write and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Writing for a Livin’

  1. rmkinder says:

    I’m a fisherwoman, but only from the bank–can’t fish from a boat. Can’t catch crappie but am pretty good getting catfish and bass.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. SBibb says:

    I never was much into fishing, and I was never good at catching fish either. (Didn’t help that I always felt bad for the fish and didn’t put a hook on the string). I did catch a tiny fish once… I had a little plastic cup and scooped it out of the creek. Then I realized it was dead.

    Yeah…

    Anyway, congrats on you and your son’s catches. 🙂

    I was actually just looking at my older writing for a plot line I might pull into a current story. I think my writing has definitely improved over time, and I’ve tried to get better at not rambling as much as I did then. There’s a lot of infodumps in my older stories.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

