The Audio Experience

Hello readers!  First and foremost, thank you, for stopping by to read my ramblings.  I am honored that you find something I say to be interesting.

Today’s post is more of a update as there isn’t much new with me at this time.  Sadly, it’s been nearly a month since I wrote my last blog and almost as long since I last went fishing!  Yes, just like in my writing world, sometimes LIFE gets in the way and I was unable to attend my Bass Tournament I’d been preparing for.  On the plus side of that, I did complete the re-writing of a crucial chapter in my novel and I think it’s much better for it.

Something very exciting within my writing world is my writing group has been working to put on our own, first annual, writers convention!  I can’t even describe the feeling of excitement this is giving me to be a part of such an event.  We are purposely aiming small for this inaugural convention and putting more focus into content, and value, rather than size.  Our thinking is that, if successful, we’ll get to do it again each year and size will take care of itself in time.  Any thoughts?

Other than writing, and NOT fishing lately, I’ve been reading.  A LOT!  More to the point, I’ve discovered a love for audiobooks.  In the past month, I’ve read two and a half physical books, and listened to three novels on Audible.  The Time Traveler was my first audio book I got on a .99 cent sale and completed it in one evening.  From there I got Starship Troopers first (if you haven’t read this then trust me, it’s WAY different from the movie), then Ready Player One, which kept me riveted as I myself am a kid of the 80’s so I understood all the references.  IMG_1793

I usually listen to a lot of podcasts at work, but this has provided me something new and exciting and I love it!  Granted, I cannot go back and easily find a passage I loved.  Sometimes there isn’t text at all, just a list of chapters and a progress bar.  However I’m thoroughly enjoying the experience of finally getting to “read” books I’ve always wanted to, and I still make time to physically read as well.  Going forward, I plan to carefully select which books I’ll listen to so as to find the ones which may take me longer to read, or perhaps is more technical, or cerebral.  Plus sometimes hearing a passage read by another, or seeing a movie adaptation, helps to get a new perspective that I may have missed in trying to read it.  I kind of doubt that was the case with Starship Troopers, but hey, at least I had a face to go with Johnny Rico.

So have you given audiobooks a try?  Have you ever been involved in putting together a convention?  Have YOU been fishing lately?  I’d love to hear about your own experiences in any of these.  Until next time, thanks for stopping by!

About Jason A. Meuschke

Happily married, father of four who has always been a dreamer and is finally pursuing those dreams! Follow along and read my silly thoughts as I approach the end of my first novel.
This entry was posted in Am writing, Audible, Audio Books, Fiction Writing, Gaming, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Audio Experience

  1. Pingback: Guilty Pleasures: The Movies | Jason A. Meuschke

Leave a Reply

