The “Sea Monkey” is Gone! (a mostly fishing blog post)

Welcome back, friends!  Let me take a moment and give you fair warning that I’m doing something a little different this week as I’m going to put more focus into the fishing part of my life with tonight’s post.  If you’ve tuned in to hear how my writing is going, I can say that it is going very well!  I made my official public announcement recently about the upcoming book and it has received some good feedback, as well as building a little bit of hype about it.  In fact, I just returned from a trip to my old home, where the story takes place, and ran into people who knew of my book, and the urban legend which it is about!  Pressure to complete it is all on me now and I’ll post some updates about it in about a week.

However for tonight’s post I’d like to share a little of what I did to FINALLY catch a few winter time bass, my first of this year, thereby getting that monkey off my back.  I make a point to take my kids as much as possible in order to build fond memories with them doing things outside like I did growing up.  Case in point, I took my youngest son, Kiefer, out for about an hour before sunset   We were slow-rolling the KVD spinner-baits in sexy shad color a few feet out and parallel to the bank and that’s how I got my first, and second, of the year.  In fairness, Kiefer had the biggest of the day, at least 2lbs (no make that 5lbs) on his very first cast but it came off right at the bank.  (Hey I warned you I was telling fish stories)

2-21-16-5

Later in the week, I ventured out to a cold, 38 degree afternoon with gusty, 20-30mph winds.  I made sure to bundle up.  A three and a half inch black with blue flake craw was especially effective crawling it along the windiest banks as four Spotted Bass devoured them.  But it was my Umbrella Rig in the three bait formation that I was most anxious to try thanks to some tips I got.  You probably already know this, but to get it to run proper you need to adjust the two outside wires with lighter jig heads and a heavier one for the bottom. (I used two 1/8 oz and one 1/4 oz)  Spreading them out this way gives it a upside down triangle look and by having the heavier one on bottom it acts as a keel to make it run straight, not flip over. The final touch was to make one of them different to stand out.  I added a line of chartreuse color from a Spike-It marker along the side and on the tail of my lower lure and sure enough that was the one the bass hit every time.

2-25-16 1

So there you go.  A couple of tips in just a few minutes of reading time.  I hope you enjoyed it!  See you again soon!

About Jason A. Meuschke

Happily married, father of four who has always been a dreamer and is finally pursuing those dreams! Follow along and read my silly thoughts as I approach the end of my first novel.
This entry was posted in Fishing, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

