2015 My Year in Review

What a year 2015 turned out to be!  As it has been a while since I’ve written you can see by my featured image I did in fact participate and exceeded the required 50,000 words to “win” NaNoWriMo, but more on that in a bit.

As you already know I’m a fisherman.  It’s in my blood and my dream was to one day begin doing competitive bass tournaments.  Early in the year I not only got to meet a childhood hero of mine, Hank Parker, but at the same event I made contact with someone who would introduce me to the Bass Club I would go on to join and begin pursuing that my dreams!  My first tournament was that March at Table Rock Lake in southern Missouri and I had a blast.FullSizeRender (2)

I also became a Grandfather for the first, and second, time early last year!  My granddaughter, Skyli was born in late Feb while my grandson, Caillum came in April.  They have been a blessing to my family not to mention a ton of fun.  Especially Skyli who lives with her Mamma in our home with us so I’ve had to get used to a baby in the home again.  Following on the heels of these events my oldest daughter, Anni, graduated high school and is herself on the way to a budding writing/artist career.IMG_1264

July was an incredibly busy month.  I’d just started this blog, spent time with family I’d not seen in years (my brother), caught my personal best bass at over 8 pounds but unfortunately NOT during a tournament, however I did get my first top Three finish in one later that month up at Lake Mozingo in NW Missouri.IMG_1029

From August on, having just joined a local writing group, The Writers of Warrensburg, I kept my nose in the laptop working on my story filling in character backgrounds and voices, developing the plot and sub-plots.  All of this prepared me very well to jump into the previously mentioned NaNoWriMo competition.  What a blast that was!  For the most part the novel is done minus a few holes which I’m working on now when I’m not immersed in that crazy world of Fallout 4!Fallout-4-62

Needless to say I’ve had a very blessed 2015 and am looking forward to an even better 2016.  My first goal is to complete the editing my current novel asap to be ready to publish as I’d like to be outlining my next novel by Summer.  To aid in this I am also pledging myself to write every day this year, or as near to every day as I can make it.  Of course it goes without saying, I want to fish more as well with a goal of doubling my top 3 finishes this year.  Thank you so much for taking the time to read my first ramblings of 2016!  I promise to come back in here more often so I hope you do too!

 

About Jason A. Meuschke

Happily married, father of four who has always been a dreamer and is finally pursuing those dreams! Follow along and read my silly thoughts as I approach the end of my first novel.
This entry was posted in Distractions, Fiction Writing, Fishing, Gaming, NaNoWriMo, New Writer and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

