On Second Thought … NaNoWriYes!

Someone told me recently I was a very odd guy.  After a moment of uncomfortable silence he quickly corrected himself claiming that what he meant to say was that I was a real enigma meaning he’d never known someone like me before.  According to this friend I’m quite the contradiction in personalities.  After giving this some thought I can see where he’s coming from so I’ll attempt to define who I am according to him.  I’m a comic book loving, hit the weights hard P90X  Beachbody Coach, movie addict who’s always ready with a line “That’s no moon”,  avid outdoors-man and hunter, football fanatic, gamer geek (don’t even get me started talking about Skyrim, Fallout, or Farcry), gotta get this story outta my head want to be writer, poker playing, reading three books at a time, cigar chomping, “just one more cast” please let me go fishing kind of guy.

Okay when you say it like that I suppose I get his point.  I mean some of those, traditionally speaking, don’t really go together.  Then again could it also mean I’m just a one-of-a-kind type of person (which my wife would attest to) who enjoys a good challenge with a variety of interests?  Like a, hmm what’s the word, fiction writer?

Well that is an official title I reserve for myself AFTER I complete this novel which I’ve decided to through NaNoWriMo after all.  My colleagues at WoW (Writers of Warrensburg) encouraged me to join them in this endeavor and after some looking into it I realized I’d basically be doing it all ready.  After all I’ve spent months preparing my storyline, the characters and arcs, and just completed the outline for each chapter to guide me and I’d planned on being done in November so why not?  Plus the deadline gives me a goal to strive for, a challenge if you will, so I’m actually really excited now and can’t wait for Sunday!

If you want to join it’s not too late!  Come to http://nanowrimo.org to sign up and look me up by my name to let me know you’re in and send me a buddy request so we can support each other in this crazy writer’s life!  Good luck and may the odds be ever in your favor!  (really Hunger Games; why are you in my head?!)

About Jason A. Meuschke

Happily married, father of four who has always been a dreamer and is finally pursuing those dreams! Follow along and read my silly thoughts as I approach the end of my first novel.
This entry was posted in Fiction Writing, NaNoWriMo and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to On Second Thought … NaNoWriYes!

  1. Pingback: Building Walls and Novels by the Seat of my Pants. | Jason A. Meuschke

Leave a Reply

