Brand New Day

Hello and welcome to my first ever blog!  I’m new at this so I’m just going to talk to you as if we were in the same room together.

After years of working hard at work and at raising my kids (together with my wife of course) I’m at last going full out pursuing some of my dreams namely getting my first novel done!  I’ve wanted to be a writer for most of my life and actually pursued it to some extent years back but I see now I never put in the effort I needed to accomplish it.  However, I think that it worked out for the best as I’ve learned a great deal about story telling since I first started putting pen to paper so to speak and now I’ve got much more confidence in my abilities to write something engaging.  Not to say my story ideas back then were childish or weak, on the contrary they are the very same ones I am working on today.  The difference is now I feel I can craft it better than I ever could’ve back then.

In going with the old adage of “write what you know” I’ve settled on a short story I did in High School which was an extension of a ghost story urban legend I’d heard of and even experienced!  I spent some time talking to old friends on what they could remember about it as well as dredging the recesses of my own memories followed by research on other aspects that either belong to the original story or that I’m including in mine.  Finally I settled on a basic storyline centered on a teenage girl named, Holli, after my wife.  I wish I could give more information but at this time that’s all I’m providing although I am keeping myself to a deadline of July 31st to complete the first draft!  Perhaps then I can share a bit more and see what kind of feedback I get.

Well I’ve got a couple days remaining before heading out for our annual family camp out so for now this is all I’ve got.  Admittedly I wasn’t sure about this ‘blog’ thing and was a bit worried I’m just wasting more time away from writing, but this was actually a little fun and I look forward to you helping keep me to my deadlines!

Until next time!

Jason

About Jason A. Meuschke

Happily married, father of four who has always been a dreamer and is finally pursuing those dreams! Follow along and read my silly thoughts as I approach the end of my first novel.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

